Allison Lancey & Ellie Laikin,
Professional Gardeners

Friends Allison and Ellie first began working together when Ellie offered Allison a job working with her gardening company.


I can’t work in an office anymore. I’ve had jobs in advertising, in insurance, as a beautician, and for the National Trust. But nowadays, I just want to be outside!

I love feeling the sunshine on my face. Who cares if it’s raining?

People call me a Woman Friday. I can turn my hand to anything. You’ll find me pet-sitting, dog- walking, child-minding or gardening – anything that combines my love of the outdoors, children and animals.

My work is very flexible and gives me lots of freedom. This happiness radiates out to my children.

Buy This Apron

“ The rich colours of the Aabelard aprons really appeal to me. And they’re so comfortable you literally forget you’re wearing them – they mould to your body as you work. ”

- Allison


My passion is reclaiming gardens. I relish taking something neglected and unloved and turning it into a thing of beauty.

My Mum gave me a love of gardening. I’ve been doing it since I was a child and it became a real hobby when in my 20s. Training as a garden designer helped me turn this into a career.

I love a challenge. I climbed Kilimanjaro and to the base camp at Everest to raise funds for a breast cancer charity and at the moment I’m learning to fly a microlight. My partner Greg runs Two Two Fly, which helps paraplegic and disabled people to pilot planes and we are always looking for new ways to raise funds to support that too.

Reaching Everest base camp and sitting on the edge looking down on a glacier was one of the most unforgettable moments of my life. I looked out and there was simply nothing and no one else around.

Buy This Apron

“ I like getting my hands dirty. You can throw anything at these Aabelard aprons and they'll withstand it. They’re tough! ”

- Ellie

Sign up to receive our latest news

Subscribe to our newsletter and enter our competition - we are giving away an embossed apron once a month.